magicq and lx console

Questions and issues concerning LXConsole (MacOS)
luca_tellechi
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2021 10:42 am

magicq and lx console

Postby luca_tellechi » Sat Jan 01, 2022 1:44 pm

hi Claude!

is there a way to import cues from magicq show to lx console?

thank you!

luca

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:31 pm

Re: magicq and lx console

Postby admin » Mon Jan 03, 2022 9:26 pm

The MagicQ manual shows an USITT ASCII import function, but no export. So, for basic dimmer/patch information you could go from LXConsole to MagicQ, but not the other way around.

MagicQ does not import fixture/parameter information from ASCII so using the import function with a non-conventional plot would only result in a partial transfer of information. Note that the ASCII standard does not provide a standard way of transferring this information. LXConsole uses its own extensions to the standard when creating an ASCII file so that, at least for LXConsole, this information can be saved in ASCII format.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:31 pm

Re: magicq and lx console

Postby admin » Mon Jan 03, 2022 9:26 pm

The MagicQ manual shows an USITT ASCII import function, but no export. So, for basic dimmer/patch information you could go from LXConsole to MagicQ, but not the other way around.

MagicQ does not import fixture/parameter information from ASCII so using the import function with a non-conventional plot would only result in a partial transfer of information. Note that the ASCII standard does not provide a standard way of transferring this information. LXConsole uses its own extensions to the standard when creating an ASCII file so that, at least for LXConsole, this information can be saved in ASCII format.