Defined Value

Questions and issues concerning LXConsole (MacOS)
JePiPo
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2022 11:14 am

Defined Value

Postby JePiPo » Sat May 13, 2023 7:56 am

Hello,

Where are stored the Position and Color Defined value and how to modified them ?

If I use one-off those to create a Cue this Cue shall be updated if I update a defined value ?

Thanks for your help.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:31 pm

Re: Defined Value

Postby admin » Wed May 17, 2023 4:54 pm

Defined values are found in the channel setup sheet. Enter a channel number or click on the channel number in the channel display. Then choose Channel->Setup Hilited Channels... Select a part in the parts table and click the Edit button. In the sub channels table, select a subchannel. Then, you can edit its defined values on the right side of the window.

Defined values are not presets. They are just shortcuts to selecting a DMX value for a subchannel. If you want to have a preset that, if changed, changes cues, use a group. Then, add the group to a cue using the Inspector's Cue Options tab in Cues (blind) display mode.

JePiPo
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2022 11:14 am

Re: Defined Value

Postby JePiPo » Wed May 17, 2023 5:50 pm

Thank you for your answer.

If I only want to record the pan and tilt values of a GLP Impression FR1 in a group, how do I do it?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:31 pm

Re: Defined Value

Postby admin » Wed May 17, 2023 7:19 pm

Put the fixture in the desired location (Live mode).

Press [r] [g] followed by the group number and [enter/return]

Switch to Group display mode.

Press [g] followed by the group number and [enter/return]

Choose Channel->Unmark All. (Choose every subchannel to unmark)

Enter the channel number or click on the channel in the display to select it.

Choose Channel->Mark Selected

When presented with a choice of which sub channels, use the popup to "Select Position". Only the Pan and Tilt sub channels will be checked.

Click OK.

The group now will only set the pan and tilt for the channel when included in a cue.


Only Marked Channels/Subchannels are set in a cue that includes the group. You can have a group set more than one channel. Or, just the Pan and Tilt of some channels. The example above is just the pan and tilt of one channel. But by marking what you want, you have full control of what the preset group does.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:31 pm

Re: Defined Value

Postby admin » Wed May 17, 2023 10:55 pm

actually there is a faster way:

In Live, set the fixture to the desired location.

With the channel selected, press [a], [g] which expands to "@record group:"

Enter the group number and press [return or enter]

When asked, select only the position (pan and tilt) subchannels.

Only the selected subchannels will be recorded and marked in the group.

JePiPo
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2022 11:14 am

Re: Defined Value

Postby JePiPo » Fri May 19, 2023 8:22 am

It's working well :-)

Thank's for your help